Productivity and Breathing Room

Personal, Work

There are countless advice articles for writers encouraging us to write everyday. Steven Pressfield, who I touted in my previous post, orders us to defy Resistance and write. The beautiful force of love and wisdom and profanity that is Cheryl Strayed tells us to “write like a motherfucker.” I believe them and agree with them because what they’re talking about is hard work, and I’ve grown suspicious of anything that purports to be easy.

But recently I favorited this tweet:

FullSizeRender

 

I favorited it almost without thinking, because it’s true for me. Often solutions to problems, ideas, or rewrites will come to me when I’m not doing anything related to writing. Driving is an especially productive time for me, which is somewhat unfortunate given that I haven’t mastered voice-recorded dictation. Last week I sent my script out to two friends for feedback. So it’s kind of a natural point to let it breathe. But in the meantime, another of my ideas began to coalesce in my brain. I sat down and wrote a beat sheet of sorts for a new script. But the whole time I kept writing and thinking the wrong character names because my head’s still in the other script.

So that’s what I’m thinking about this week. How to find the balance between writing like a motherfucker and giving it time to breathe.

Leave a Reply

